Reading & Bookish Habits // A Look Back

One of my favorite posts I’ve written for Where’s My Bookmark? was Reading + Bookish Habits. It was one of my first posts I published on here and even though the writing could have been better, I’m still really happy with it.

That’s why I wanted to revisit it today. I wanted to take the time to look back on that post and take a look at my own reading and bookish habits again.

reading & bookish habits

In my post, I note some habits that I had. Here are some of them:

  • use of bookmarks
  • use of sticky note & flags
  • tracking reading on Goodreads & using a reading journal
  • reading a portion of middle & end to get a feel for a book and see if I want to continue

Upon reflection, here are some habits I continue to do:

Extensive Use of Bookmarks

I’m a bookmark hoarder. I love bookmarks. When the Scholastic book fair comes around at the niece’s school I buy like three. I peruse the bargain bin at Barnes & Noble for bookmarks. I collect and take care of them. Sometimes, I make them! I always use a bookmark when I read.

Use of Sticky Notes & Flags

I don’t do this often, but I do utilize sticky notes and flags when I want to remember a passage or quote, especially for library books.

Tracking Reading Trends on Goodreads

I try to keep up of what I’ve read on Goodreads, just so at the end of the year I can get that nifty year in books algorithm made. Other than that, I find myself less and less on Goodreads.

Using a Reading Journal [you can take a look at my reading journal here]

I still use a physical notebook to keep track of my reading. I want to use it more for ‘to be read’ lists, etc. I want to move my attention from Goodreads to my reading journal.

reading journal cover

Reading a Portion of Middle & End to Get a Feel for a Book and See if I Want to Continue

Some people probably think I’m nuts for doing this, but I just really don’t want to waste my time. I read a random page and if it’s interesting I start the book. This habit has actually helped me form a new habit.

New habit – Dropping a Book When I’m Clearly Not Interested

Other than for ARCs, if a book I’ve picked up doesn’t capture my interest then I put it aside and decide whether or not I should even try. I don’t do this for books that are hard to read per se. Some fantasy books are heavy with description and world building and sometimes I need to set it down to give my brain a break. But in some cases the writing style or even the characters are too much and I move on. I literally don’t have time for that.

What do you think? Are there some habits I need to improve upon? What are some of your reading and bookish habits?

This is my last discussion post for Where’s My Bookmark? It’s been great! A book review will be posted on Wednesday and my farewell post will be posted on Friday. Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “Reading & Bookish Habits // A Look Back

    • I hear a similar story from other people too lol. I just can’t help using bookmarks. I think it’s because when I was in high school the librarian would give us a bookmark every time we checked out a book. I still have most of the ones I received from her.

      Like

  1. I’m also totally in love with bookmarks! I love collecting them. 😃 I’m struggling with tracking my reading on GR. I’ve been using an app on my phone and since it’s more personal and private, I’ve noticed I feel less pressure, which doesn’t trigger reading slumps nearly as often as using GR. thanks for this awesome post!

    Like

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

