6 Non-Fiction Books I Want To Read

I don’t talk about non-fiction books a lot on the blog. I do read them though! I’m gradually branching out and even requesting a few on NetGalley. Today, I wanted to share with you all some books that I have on my Non-Fiction TBR (because yes, I have one of those).

non fic i want to read

the immortal life of henrietta lackshidden figuresthe devil's highway

  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot // Goodreads 
  • Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly // Goodreads 
  • The Devil’s Highway: A True Story by Luis Alberto Urrea // Goodreads 

I’ve had my eyes on The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks for a few years now, but I didn’t think I was old enough to read and fully understand it, but now I think I’m ready to give it a shot. I hope I can get to it in the next year or so. Similarly, I’m excited to learn more about the women who were a part of NASA’s space program.

The Devil’s Highway is about the migrant crossing over the Mexican-American border, but particularly the dangers people face, including wildlife, coyotes, climate related dangers, and death.

history of the peloponnesian warthe making of genghis khanthe rape of nanking

  • History of the Peloponnesian War by Thucydides // Goodreads 
  • Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World by Jack Weatherford // Goodreads 
  • The Rape of Nanking by Iris Chang // Goodreads 

I’ve been wanting to read the History of the Peloponnesian War since I started studying history in college. I think it’d be fun to take a look at how Thucydides recollected the events.

For Genghis Khan, I just really want to learn more about him, the dynasty, and the effects it’s had on the area and the world.

I know it’s going to be a hard read, but I’ve been wanting to read The Rape of Nanking for a while now. In my experience in high school history classes and in my courses in college, there wasn’t much talk or emphasis on the invasion of Asia by the Japanese Empire. It’s mentioned briefly. I know very little and I want to amend that.

There you have it! Here are six books that are currently on my non-fiction TBR. Have you read any? Are any titles on your own TBR? Which non-fiction books have you read recently (or not so recently) that you recommend?

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

