A Look Inside My Reading Journal

I started keeping a reading journal in 2012. I usually write down a few thoughts for each book I read. They span from a few thoughts to full-blown reviews. I’ve kept up the habit of keeping reading journals and now I’m on my third one. I wanted to share with you all a quick look into what my reading journal looks like. The pages/photos are not in any particular order. Now, let’s get to it!

reading journal blog cover

The outside cover has stickers from a few RedBubble stores. I’ll post a link at the bottom of this post. The journal itself is actually quite large. It’s bigger than an average composition book. I want to fill the cover with some more stickers, but I haven’t found more that I liked.

reading journal cover

Here is the inside cover: Again, I have a few stickers from bookish Redbubble stores (which I’ll link to at the end of this post). A printed out poster/quote. On the left is a list about what to include or write about when writing book thoughts/notes/reviews.

I also wrote the month and year I started this reading journal, which was December 2016.

The first page includes a table of contents (that I’m really bad at updating) and an ongoing list of books I’ve read this year.

reading journal inside cover

Next, is a dual page. On the left page is what my book thoughts/notes usually look. I have my hand covering the notes because “spoilers”. On the right, is a list of reading challenges I’m (sort of) doing in 2017. Shout out to Naz’s Read Diverse 2017 and NovelKnight’s Beat the Backlist.

reading journal inside

My reading journal isn’t just book notes and reviews. I include various things that are related to books, literature, etc. Here I have a printed out Diversity Bingo that I glued to my journal for future reference and continued book recommendations.

On the left, I listed some books I want to re-read in 2017.

reading journal inside layouts

Here’s another few pages that aren’t book notes/reviews. I’m really interested in reading some books that follow the hate-to-love trope so I made it’s own devoted page with book recommendations (thanks to Sil from the Book Voyagers). On the right, I tried out the bookshelf/read this year layout. I’m not very artistic, but I wanted to give it a try *welp*.

reading journal inside layouts 2

And here is the layout for my book notes/review pages: I have the title and author on top, followed by Read, Pub (publish month & year), Genre, Rating, and Characters. I also include any related notes, like whether I received it for review, etc.

reading journal notes layout crop

reading journal notes layout filled crop

There you have it, a look inside my reading journal. Do you do something similar? Do you have a journal or notebook just for reading related things? Do you include it in your bullet journal or daily journal, etc.? Let me know in the comments!

Happy reading!

RedBubble Stores: bookdragon, bookscupcakes

 

One thought on “A Look Inside My Reading Journal

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

