Swayed By Author Blurbs -Author Recs You Trust & Go To

Reviews and recommendations from bloggers and friends help us readers decide what books to read and in some cases how soon we read them. Recently, I discovered that I place some attention on author blurbs on potential reads too.

I read the synopsis of the book, I check out the cover, and then I look to see if I recognize the names of the authors who’ve blurbed (that’s a word, I swear) the book. I also noticed that some author’s recommendations weigh more compared to others.

swayed by author blurbs

If a book has a blurb from these set of authors I’m more likely to read it:

  • Meg Medina
  • Cindy Pon
  • Leigh Bardugo

In January, I was holding off on reading a book because I was worried that one) I wasn’t going to like it and two) it might make me sad. But, I saw there was a blurb from Meg Medina on the back and I decided to go ahead and try and read said book. I liked it and it did make me sad, but I’m glad I gave it a try.

author blurb edit 2

However, if a book has a blurb from one of these authors, I tend to feel a little more hesitant or sometimes turned off entirely:

  • John Green
  • Sarah J. Mass

Not saying I won’t ever read a book that was blurbed by one of these authors. It usually lies in the type of book they write and the type of book they’re recommending. For instance, I never really liked any of John Green’s books, so if there is a John Green blurb on a contemporary YA I hold back a little because they might be similar in style or subject matter. So, I stop myself from reading it before I end up disliking it.

At the end of the day, it all comes down to whether I liked an author’s books or believe their writing style and stories are good and thus, pay attention to their blurbs on other books. I like Meg Medina’s contemporary novels more than John Green’s. Cindy Pon has written some of my favorite YA fantasy so I lean more toward her recs.

What about you? Do you pay attention to author blurbs? Could you care less? What are some authors whose recommendations you pay attention too?

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

