Hook, Line, & Sinker // First Lines That Reel You In

The cover catches our eye. We reach for the book and take a peek at the first few lines and pages (or if you’re like me you open the book right in the middle and start reading).

I’ve been reading a lot of writing tips blog posts and some talk about reeling readers in with the first line. That got me thinking – what are the first lines of some books I’ve enjoyed reading.

Off to the bookshelf!

hook line and sinker

Some of these are my favorite books and some are books I really enjoyed reading. I found that their first lines were rather intriguing, weird, or comedic.

Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee

“In my fifteen years, I have stuck my arm in a vat of slithering eels, climbed all the major hills of San Francisco, and tiptoed over the graves of a hundred souls. Today, I will walk on air.”

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

“The second time I saw my dead aunt Rosaria, she was dancing.”

author blurb edit

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

“The Monster showed up just after midnight. As they do.”

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones 

“In the land of Ingary, where such things as seven-league boots and cloaks of invisibility really exist, it is quite a misfortune to be born the eldest of three.”

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

“The first thing you find out when yer dog learns to talk is that dogs don’t got nothing much to say. About anything.”

Have you read any of these books? Which line stuck out to you? What are some of your favorite first lines?

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

