Month in Review // February 2017

February has come and gone and with it comes good books, bad books, publishing news, 100th day of school (or maybe that’s just me).

February was also a good month of trying out different book genres.

month-in-review-feb-2017

Books Read: 6

  • Year of No Clutter by Eve O. Schaub
  • Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee
  • Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
  • The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Sanchez
  • We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson
  • If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Another pretty good reading month. A few hits and a miss…I really enjoyed Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee. So that’s 2/3 Stacey Lee books that I have enjoyed. I’ll be on the look out for her latest book.

I also really liked The Education of Margot Sanchez. Be sure to check this one out if you like YA contemporary with a strong teen voice. There’s little to no romance in this one too.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle was my book club’s pick of the month. It was interesting, but not the type of book I’d pick up on my own.

books-read-feb

Reviews:

Blog Posts:

About Samantha:

February was an okay month. I didn’t get sick this time, thankfully. I wasn’t bedridden or sore. It was just me, the family, copious amounts of Haikyu!!, and books.

Maybe February wasn’t such a stressful month because the universe knew March would probably horrendous. Niece #1’s birthday is next month so that means, birthday, tantrums, birthday party, and whining. There’s also no days off next month *cries*. So, it’ll be constant effort to keep Niece #1 on her feet and ready for school and behaved, blahblah.

My Japanese study is going okay. I just finished studying/memorizing 170ish kanji and a ton of vocab. I’ll be spending the next month working on grammar and utilizing the kanji and vocab I just ‘learned’. It’s funny to me because I wasn’t this diligent with my Japanese study when I was taking Japanese language classes. Why, Past!Me?

I’m also close to deciding whether or not 2017 will be my final year of book blogging. I think my enthusiasm for it has run it’s course. I’m still trying to figure it out. There will be an official announcement eventually.

That was my month! Not much to report. How was your February? Did you read any good books?

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

