Book Quotes That Have Stuck With Me

We all have them (probably, I hope so). We all have those snippets of words, sentences, those quotes that make lights flash in your mind, make bells ring. We all have those quotes that just stick with us even after we’ve read the book and after we’ve turned the last page.

Today, I’m going to share with you four quotes from books that have stayed with me even after I’ve closed the cover.

1

This quote resonates with me today even after a handful of years. I read it as a freshman in high school and it’s one of those books that inspire you to be good, to be better, and when you’ve lost your way, a line like this brings you back. It actually kind of reminds me of the line from The Lorax by Dr. Suess, “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.” I read Zusak’s book before I read The Lorax. So even though they’re pretty similar, I think they’re both important and inspiring.

4

Now, Harry Potter is full of quotable quotes that it’s difficult to pinpoint which ones are my favorite. This quote is at the top. You can learn a whole lot about how someone by the way they treat other people, including their mothers, the waitress/waiter, the cashier at the local supermarket, even an animal. I think it’s especially important when growing a relationship with someone to consider how they treat others, especially those they perceive as inferior to them (not necessarily in a negative way) because some time down the line they might treat you that way too.

This quote is especially telling in the current political climate in the U.S. It’s something to think about.

3

Life of Pi is poetic and filled with philosophical insight. It’s lovely. It’s one of my favorite books (at least I think it is, I should probably reread it). Now although it’s about a boy and a tiger (or is it…?), these words can apply to any situation one can face. It’s about closure, which I think it’s something we try to avoid. But if we fail to talk about things and if we fail to make and get closure, we’ll carry a weight with us for the rest of our lives.

2

Hurston’s book, Their Eyes Were Watching God, was another book I read during high school with an everlasting impression on my mind. At the time, it was so unique and interesting. This quote is so beautiful. It’s short and free from heavy metaphorical meanings, but it’s words have substance and clear meaning. We can all find love, but something unique to our humanity is that we all experience love differently. We also have different levels, different kinds of love, for different people.


That’s it! Do you have a selection of quotes that have resonated with you and stuck with you even after you’ve read the last page? (I tried my best with the edits/graphics!)

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

