Coverly Love – Reads Based Solely On Covers [Friday 5 @ 5]

A weekly feature hosted by NovelKnight, Friday 5 @5 is a short list inspired by a prompt that is provided every Friday. For more info, be sure to check out NovelKnight.

I recently found NovelKnight’s weekly feature and wanted to give it a try! This week’s theme is – books you read based solely on the cover.

I jumped in and decided I was definitely going to do this week’s prompt until I remembered…have I ever done this? So I had to dig and dig around in my memory. I came up with a few!

books-read-because-of-their-covers

First book I want to talk about is one that I’ve read recently. I’d seen Aisha Saeed around on Twitter and added her book, Written in the Stars to my TBR. I was pulled in by the cover and jumped at the chance to purchase through Book Outlet. It was during checkout when I realized I hadn’t read the synopsis. I just knew I wanted to read it. I’m glad I did! It’s timely and heart-wrenching, but an important read, nonetheless. A review will be posted soon.

I totally read Labyrinth Lost (by Zoraida Cordova) because of the cover. I requested it on NetGalley before I had any real idea of what it was about. Oops. But I ended up loving it anyway.

let the sky fall edit

Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger had such a dream like cover. I checked it out of the library and thought, “I’m ready to love you.” The covers got a makeover last year and while I do like both versions, there’s no denying that the original cover for the first book is what reeled me in.

the-knife-of-never-letting-goThe last two books were definitely cover reads. Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry (and the rest of the series) have great covers. I really enjoyed book 1 and feel bad that I haven’t read the rest of this series. I wonder if I should still give it a read…

The other great cover read was The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. This one was a “title” and “cover” read. I distinctly remember walking by the Chaos Walking series in my high school library and loving the titles to these books, then eventually grabbing them and looking at the covers, and then checking them out.

I’m pretty sure this was the edition that I read…? Which is odd because I haven’t been able to find this edition since. Who knows. I can’t remember…but I just know that I really liked the cover.

What was the last few books that you read because the cover grabbed your attention?

 

3 thoughts on “Coverly Love – Reads Based Solely On Covers [Friday 5 @ 5]

  1. This is a great list! I am also attracted to Labyrinth Lost due to the cover! I haven’t read it yet, but I can’t wait to get to it. I also found the Falconer trilogy by Elizabeth May. There’s something about pretty covers which just call to me. I can’t help it!

    Like

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

