Month in Review // January 2017

It’s the first Month In Review for 2017! A whole month into the new year and what a month it’s been.

My personal life remained mostly the same, while I battled illness after illness. Our daily lives are pretty much back to normal. I feel like I’ve gotten quite a lot of reading done, but at the same time I feel like I haven’t read much.

month-in-review-january-2017

Books Read: 7

  • Wondrous by Travis M. Riddle
  • The Young Elites (The Young Elites #1) by Marie Lu
  • Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed
  • I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up For Education and was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai with Christina Lamb
  • Ida, Always by Caron Levis, Illustrated by Charles Santoso
  • Thunder Boy Jr. by Sherman Alexie, Illustrated by Yuyi Morales
  • The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

This month I got to finish two books I intended to read in December. Also, I read two books from my TBR, one which I shared in my Books I Want to Read in 2017 post.

Reviews:

Blog Posts:

About Samantha:

I wish I could say the New Year started off without a hitch, but for the first two weeks of January was sick from a cold and then recovering from said cold. It was awful, but I am now fully recovered.

This January, a new president was inaugurated in the United States. I’ll try my best to keep politics off the blog (except in sections like this), but this new administration already seems quite troubling. I don’t like it at all, but fortunately there are avenues for discussion and change.

Since, January has been crappy on one side, and boring on the other, I’ve been watching a lot of Haikyu!! It makes me happy and my technique for self-care. It’s my favorite tv show/anime and the niece #2 likes it, so we’re all good.

I shared that I was going to restart my Japanese language study. I have! I can’t see much development now, but I’ve been doing well keeping up with doing something a little bit every day. I write in a journal five days a week, read and circle words I don’t know, and I study from flashcards. On the weekend, sometimes I go over sections in my textbook. I’m honestly trying!

How was your January? Did you read any books? What are you looking forward to in February and in the coming months?

2 thoughts on “Month in Review // January 2017

  1. I think it’s awesome you’re learning Japanese!! I’m learning it right now. Since I’m a slow learner I have to take my time, but I’m enjoying it a lot!! 😊 January was mostly a good manga month for me as I read a lot of that, but it wasn’t too bad in regular books. I’m hoping to focus on more Asian #OwnVoices reading for February. I hope you feel better, and have a good month ahead!! Thank you for sharing this post. 💛

    Like

    • Thanks! I try :3 I’m trying to get back into it and stay motivated. I used to take classes in person and now I’m all on my own.
      I want to read more manga! I need to find some titles and see if I can request some from the library.
      That sounds like a good plan! Thank you. Healthy so far. Hoping to keep it up 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

