Reading Challenges for 2017

I’ve finally decided that I want to take part in some reading challenges for the year. I don’t necessarily make big “quantity” reading goals anymore. For instance, I don’t make it a goal to read at least 100 books a year.

Instead, I make smaller goals like, read at least one book a month, with the hope that I can get through four. But it all depends on my life situation and schedule. Doing it like this makes it less stressful in the long run, especially since the only one who’s holding me accountable is me.

But, I’m finding myself often feeling like I have nothing to read. Or wondering what to read next. So, I’ve finally determined to take on some reading challenges to help me figure out what to read next!

reading-challenges-2017

One of the difficulties of deciding to do a reading challenge was figuring out which one I would most like to do. I don’t want to say, “Oh, I’m going to do that one!” and then never do it… That’s why this is coming at you during the last week of January, because it’s taken me this long to decide. Some of the challenges I’m listing here were announced weeks ago! That’s how indecisive I am, readers!

Moving on, here are the challenges I’ll be taking on this year.

Read Diverse 2017 (#ReadDiverse2017) – Hosted by Naz @ Read Diverse Books

This one should have been a given! It’s about reading and reviewing books and that’s something I already do! With this challenge and the one listed below, I’ll take on the task of actively seeking out books by and/or about marginalized voices.

  • 2017 Diverse Reads Book Challenge (#DiverseReads2017) – Hosted by Shelly @ Read.Sleep.Repeat and Mishma @ Chasing Faerytales – I’ll sort of be doing this challenge as well since it’s similar to Naz’s. Shelly and Mishma also offer monthly mini-challenges to further curate the kinds of books to look for, which I think is helpful for readers who might get stuck and is either not in the mood for a certain type of genre or wants to try something new.

Beat the Backlist (#BeatTheBacklist) – Hosted by Austine @ Novel Knight

This challenge is especially aimed at cutting down your TBR. I have under 50 books on my TBR (according to Goodreads) so I thought this would be fairly reasonable to do. An extra challenge for me would be to try and read the books that are harder to attain – like the Obsidian and Blood series *cries*.

This post from Book Riot also has some interesting book challenges listed for readers who want to be a little more adventurous with their reading.

And…Bingo! Reading bingos are practically reading challenges right? I found this bingo from Scholastic that I want to try and also see if the niece wants to read with me. And #DiversityBingo2017, be sure to check that out over on Twitter.

Are you taking part in any reading challenges this year? Have you ever done one? What about reading bingo? 

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

