#readthemargin Reading Challenge Wrap-Up

For the month of December, I took part in Amanda’s reading challenge #readthemargin. The bulk of my reading that month was toward this reading challenge. I read some books that I had on my TBR for and some books I’ve been meaning to read for a long time.

The rundown: reading challenge taking place between Dec 1 – Jan 1, 2017. Read only marginalized authors (which include: women, POC, religious minorities, people with disabilities, Queer/LGBTQIA community).

readthemargin-wrap-up

Books Read: 8

  • Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai
  • The Stonekeeper (Amulet #1) by Kazu Kibuishi
  • How Tia Lola Came to Visit Stay by Julia Alvarez
  • The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace
  • End of Days (Penryn and the End of Days #3) by Susan Ee
  • Under A Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
  • When the Stars Go Blue by Caridad Barbara Ferrer
  • The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco (ARC)

The Bone Witch was actually my last read for 2016, so that’s pretty cool.

Looking over the books I read, I read mostly women and people of color (POC). In my attempt to read more broadly, I’m going to try and read more books with characters from religious minorities, people with disabilities, and characters who are LGBT+, #ownvoices or other wise.

I particularly want to find these identities in fantasy and sci-fi, so I’ll keep an eye out.

All in all, I think December was a successful reading month. Thanks, Amanda for setting this up!

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

