Where’s My Bookmark? Best Books Of 2016

Today’s post is inspired by the Broke and the Bookish‘ Top Ten Tuesday prompt. For more info, be sure to check out their blog.

It’s the final week and the final Top Ten Tuesday of 2016. This year was a whirlwind and I can’t believe we’ll be ringing in the new year so soon. I’ve read around 80+ books this year and have had my share of good and not so good reads. I shared an end of the year wrap-up last week where I shared some books I liked, some posts I liked the best, and what I’m looking forward to in 2017.

Today, I’ll be sharing some of the best books I read this year.

ttt-best-books-of-2016

I shared a short thread on Twitter yesterday of some of my favorite reads from 2016. I may include all the books I listed yesterday, but mostly I’ll try to elaborate and share some pictures.

Under A Painted Sky by Stacey Lee // Goodreads 

I knew I wanted to read this book when it came out spring 2015, but I wasn’t in a rush. As I hurried to try and read as many books on my TBR before the year is out and the reading challenge I’m doing this month (#readthemargin), it was as good a time as any to check this book out of the library and give it a read.

And, I love it way more than I thought I was going too! First off, I totally thought this book was written in verse for some reason. Don’t ask me why (I have no idea). Samantha and Annamae grew on me and their budding friendship just warmed my heart. Rattlesnakes, my friends, rattlesnakes.

under-a-painted-sky-edit

Sacrifice by Cindy Pon // Review // Goodreads

I may or may not have cried over the conclusion to Cindy Pon’s second duology. Sacrifice is all action (and heartbreak). Stylistically different from Serpentine, I enjoyed it just as much and appreciated Pon’s continued emphasis on the friendship between Skybright and Zhen Ni.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo // Review // Goodreads 

This story blew me out of the water. This book/duology is way better than Bardugo’s original Grisha trilogy (fight me! Although, I liked the other series too). Here, Bardugo’s writing comes to life. The setting and world-building is enthralling, the characters are much more multi-faceted (compared to the Grisha gang, who were difficult to discern). I appreciated the slow and deliberate plot construction and introduction. It really made the story more worthwhile.

Something in Between by Melissa de la Cruz // Review // Goodreads

I love this cover. I’m so grateful for this story. Jasmine de los Santos is you and me and that person down the street. She’s every one of us who has a dream and will go to great lengths to see it come to fruition. I appreciated this book so much, not only for the romance (and the depictions of it’s ups & downs), but for it’s realism. For bringing to life the difficulties of creating and maintaining your identity. Something in Between is definitely my go to rec for Contemporary YA.

cxzf66kveaeqry2

Sky Chasers trilogy by Amy Kathleen Ryan // Review (book 2) // Review (book 3) // Goodreads (book 3)

The final book in the series, Flame, is one of the most satisfying reads I’ve encountered. The series as a whole is descriptive, creative, and an action-packed space opera that includes philosophical and moral questions. One of the few Sci-Fi novels I’ve read that take place in space, but I think if I read any others that are similar they’ll pale in comparison to just how good this one is.

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova // Review // Goodreads

Oh my gosh! I don’t know if urban fantasy will ever be the same after reading this wonderful book! Brujas, the intermixing of Spanish and Latinx cultural aspects, Alex and her family. I love every little bit of this novel, from the hardcover details to the words on the page!

Haikyu!! by Haruichi Furudate // Goodreads

I’m just so happy this manga was licensed. I found out winter 2015 and was wriggling in my chair with excitement for the first release in July! We’re up to volume 6 now (vol 7 releases Jan 3). The art is superb and the character arcs are my favorite.

haikyuu-edit

That’s it for the best books of 2016. I’m pretty satisfied by what I read and by how much I read. I’m looking forward to another year of reading, reviewing, and discussion.

What were some of the best books you read in 2016?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Where’s My Bookmark? Best Books Of 2016

  1. I can’t believe I haven’t read any of these! Looks like my TBR just grew again. I adore manga, but I like to binge read series, so I won’t be reading Haikyu until more volumes are published.
    My favorite books of 2016 were The Shadow of the Wind, Gemina, and Shrill: Notes From A Loud Woman.

    Like

    • I read so many good books this year, it’s crazy!
      I like to binge read too (one of the reasons why I wait until series/duologies are all finished), but I knew I was gonna be a fan of Haikyu!! because I like the anime. It was a no brainer for me lol, but it looks like Viz Media will be holding the license for the manga for awhile since it’s been so successful here in the states.
      I’ve heard so many things about The Shadow of the Wind, maybe 2017 will be the year I finally pick it up. I’ve heard quite a few good things about Illuminae and Gemina too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I haven’t seen the anime yet, but I don’t own a television so I’ve gotten out of the practice of watching shows. I can’t wait to check this out.
        I hope you get a chance to read some of my favorite books. I’ll keep an eye out for your reviews. 😀 I love comparing my opinions to those of my blogger friends.

        Like

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

