Week 3 Reading & More Reading // #readthemargin Update

Happy Tuesday! This month I’m taking part in a month long reading challenge called #readthemargin. Created by Manda (ladybookmad). It’s a month long endeavor to read literature created by marginalized authors.

The rundown: reading challenge takes place between Dec 1 – Jan 1, 2017. Read only marginalized authors (which include: women, POC, religious minorities, people with disabilities, Queer/LGBTQIA community).

readthemargin-update

We’re entering week three! I got more reading done in week two. I finished two books and started I Am Malala. I did want to make some more progress with that one, but haven’t made much of a dent.

Currently Reading: I Am Malala, The Young Elites, (and an ARC not part of #readthemargin)

Books Read: 7

  • Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai
  • The Stonekeeper (Amulet #1) by Kazu Kibuishi
  • How Tia Lola Came to Visit Stay by Julia Alvarez
  • The Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace
  • End of Days (Penryn and the End of Days #3) by Susan Ee
  • Under A Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
  • When the Stars Go Blue by Caridad Barbara Ferrer

under-a-painted-sky-edit

Last week’s favorite read was Under A Painted Sky by Stacey Lee. I love the cover. Samantha (Sammy) and Annamae (Andy) are great characters. I really enjoyed reading this going west journey. It was a survival, but also finding one’s own self type of story, which I liked.

#readthemargine TBR: 

  • The Young Elites by Marie Lu
  • I Am Malala: The Story of the Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai
  • ARC – The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

I can’t believe how much reading I’ve actually accomplished (the perks of having little to no responsibilities I guess *cries*).

I’m looking forward to really getting into The Young Elites. I’ve only heard good things about it.

Don’t forget, you can keep up with my updates on Goodreads and Twitter!

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

