Ten of My All-Time Favorite Movies

Today’s post is inspired by the Broke and the Bookish‘ Top Ten Tuesday prompt. For more info, be sure to check out their blog.

I love stories. I also love the various ways in which stories are told. One of my favorite modes of storytelling are movies.

I love this week’s Top Ten Tuesday prompt because it allows me to share a little bit more about myself. So, let’s get to it!

ttt-all-time-fave-movies

Number 1 on my list is – Mulan (Disney, 1998)

It has great voice actors, great musical numbers, and the animation and lines are seamless, and beautiful.

Lilo & Stitch (Disney, 2002)

The position for number 1 fluctuates week by week, but it’s usually Mulan or Lilo & Stitch that vy for the top spot of ALL TIME FAVORITE. There are a lot of reasons why I love this movie. It’s one of Disney’s most original feature-length film, it’s well researched and has musical numbers in Hawaiian and infuses Hawaiian culture. Sisters! Aliens! Plus, it’s not a conventional love story. It’s all about family.

The Land Before Time (Universal Studios, 1998)

This was my favorite movie as a kid. I rewatched it with the nieces a few weeks ago and it totally broke my heart. The Land Before Time is probably one of the reasons why I love animation and animated movies so much.

Princess Mononoke (Studio Ghibli, 1997)

I don’t know if Princess Mononoke gets as much recognition as maybe Spirited Away, but Princess Mononoke ranks as my top favorite movie and animated movie (honestly at this point that list is probably one and the same). It’s truly a fantastical story on the big screen. It does have a different tone compared to Ghibli’s other films, but I’d highly recommend if you want to venture into Japanese cinema and animation.

The Incredibles (Pixar, 2004)

Can anyone even name one film as their favorite Pixar film? It’s definitely hard. Mine fluctuate between this one, Finding Nemo, and Monsters Inc. It’s hard. But there’s no denying Pixar animation studios’ creativity in writing and their skills with 3D animation.

ParaNorman (Laika, 2012)

Don’t get me started on stop-motion animation. You’ve probably heard or seen some of Laika’s work. Coraline and The Corpse Bride are part of their filmography. ParaNorman is a great story. The lines are amazing. Also, I learned that 3D color printers were used for their faces and was the second stop-motion film to be shot in 3D. It also has the first openly gay character in a mainstream animated film. It’s a really good film all around.

Spirited Away (Studio Ghibli, 2001)

Spirited Away might be one of the best animated films of all time. Highly original, beautiful artwork, color palette, and background work. The story of a listless Chihiro, I’m sure is relatable to all of us. I feel as if this film is pretty universal.

Howl’s Moving Castle (Studio Ghibli, 2004)

I love this film’s art and I also like that it’s an adaptation of Diana Wynne Jones wonderful book by the same name. Is it the best adaptation? No, but it captures the character’s spirits well-enough and even imbues them with a new story.

Tangled (Disney, 2010)

Even though it’s based on the fairy tale, Rapunzel, Tangled is pretty original and it’s a great introduction to Disney’s own 3D animation. The songs are probably my favorite in any Disney film. Plus, Mandy Moore ❤

Pride & Prejudice (Focus Features, 2005)

There was too much animation in this list so I decided to include my favorite live-action film. I absolutely adore this adaptation of P&P and I just love this movie overall. Joe Wright’s direction and the cinematography is wonderful. The score really brings the whole movie together as well.

Other films I want to include are:

  • How to Train Your Dragon 1 & 2
  • Rise of the Guardians
  • Jurassic Park
  • I, Robot
  • Wolf Children

As you can tell, I have a thing for animated films. They are the best. They’re really my preferred format of film. Let me tell you, if the Harry Potter series were to ever get remade – hello, animated movies, please and thank you.

I know many of these films are from the last 20 years or so, but I do like a few 20th century films (Back to The Future to name one)…sort of.

What are some of your favorite films? Are some of them on the list?

2 thoughts on “Ten of My All-Time Favorite Movies

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

