Books I’ve Read Because Someone Else Wouldn’t Stop Talking About Them

Today’s post is inspired by the Broke and the Bookish‘ Top Ten Tuesday prompt. For more info, be sure to check out their blog.

One of the best things about the bookish internet is the never ending stream of book recommendations. On booklr, booktube, Twitter, and on blogs, there are books that gain so much attraction and love that you can’t help checking them out yourself.

So, here are just a few books I read because other people could NOT stop talking about them and loving them.

top-ten-tuesday-%2f%2f-books-read-bc-of-others-recommendation

1. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

I saw this book on booklr and there is one person I follow on there who recommend this book to the moon and back (I think it’s still her favorite book…?). I was hesitant to pick it up at first because it takes place in the 80’s and I’m inherently iffy on books that take place pre-2000 because it feels weird. But I knew I needed to read it because the main characters are Latinx (2nd and 3rd gen too!). I did like it and I want to reread it soon.

aristotle-and-dante-edit

2. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 

I read this book because Mason (over at The Amazing Bookshelf) would not stop talking about it on Twitter. I’ve seen Bardugo around booklr for a few years now, but I never picked up her Grisha series. When Crooked Kingdom’s release date was nearing, I thought I’d give Six of Crows a go and I’m glad I did! I can’t wait to read Crooked Kingdom.

3. The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh 

Another read due to booklr. The Wrath & The Dawn made it’s around on Tumblr and people could not stop talking about it and how awesome Shazi is. Lots of people were excited for a One Thousand and One Nights retelling. Although, the duology kind of falls from being an actual retelling it’s a wonderful homage to the Islamic story and the history of the region.

4. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I’ve only read book 1 and 2, but the fanart and fanedits for this series are so great! This series caught my attention mainly because of reader’s creativity. To be honest, I think I like the fanedits more than I like the books, but I’ll try to finish this series in the coming year.

book-rec-edit-2

5. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I’m a huge fan of Ness’ Chaos Walking trilogy. I saw A Monster Calls on booklr and knew I needed to read it. I checked out a copy from the library and knew that I would eventually want one for my own personal library. The story is one of a kind and the artwork really pieces it together.

6. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson 

This is where I tell you even though people are yelling from the rooftops about a certain book or book series, there will be times that you don’t love it as much as they do. I didn’t like Nimona. I like the artwork, the world is cool, but the story is boring and now I’m filled with buyers remorse because the one book I decided to buy turned out not that great.

book-rec-edit-1

I want to say for the most part I read what I want and very rarely do I read what others are currently loving because I usually can’t afford to read new releases, etc. and it’s usually a long wait to check out a book from the library, but I’m trying my best.

What are some books you’ve read because of someone else’s recommendation or their obvious love for it? I’m never going to forget Mason’s love for Wylan from Six of Crows. Are you usually the recommender? Thankfully, most of the books on this list I liked. But have you experienced a book, everyone else seemed to love, but you not so much?

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

