Month In Review // Sep 2016

September was surprisingly a hectic month for me (and the bookish-web). I had my highs and lows mentally, marked another year around the sun, and got tackled by a wicked cold.

month-in-review-sep-2016

I didn’t read that much this last month. At first I was a little disappointed, but in the end I’m amazed I got any reading done at all. I don’t want to put myself down. But summer is definitely over, that’s for sure.

Books Read: 2

  • Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Burn Baby Burn by Meg Medina

Reviews:

sacrifice-edit

Blog Posts:

About Samantha:

September was busy for me in a way that things just kept happening and happening without giving me a chance to digest it all.

I’m exhausted. The niece is officially back to school, we’re back into our usual morning routines. I wake up early to be with the other niece, so I feel like I hardly ever get a good night’s sleep.

I got to see my friends during our monthly book club meeting via Skype. I haven’t told them, but seeing them even if it’s for an hour gives me so much energy to keep going on, especially when most days I just feel like curling up on the sofa and not doing anything.

I started watching Brooklyn Nine-Nine and I totally get why people like that show. It’s so funny!

I celebrated my birthday last month and to treat myself I bought Pride & Prejudice (the 2005 movie version) and a few books that were on my wishlist.

bday-gifts

The last week of the month I caught a cold. Going into the first weekend of October, it got worse that I was bedridden because of soreness, a massive headache, and a cough.

So, I’m still trying to recover from this weird sickness I have. Hopefully, your month went a whole lot better than mine! Did you read or find anything interesting? What books are you looking forward to reading the most?

2 thoughts on “Month In Review // Sep 2016

  1. I’m so sorry you’ve felt sick, Samantha! I hope you get well very soon.
    I had a four-day weekend recently and utterly failed at being productive (reading and blogging-wise). I just wasn’t in the mood and was in a terrible mood half the time, so I couldn’t enjoy my time as much as I should have.
    I admire your optimism. Reading 2 books is great considering what you went through! I’m happy to see both books were Latinx authors. 🙂 Will you be reviewing Burn Baby Burn?

    Like

    • I feel a whole lot better now. Thank goodness.
      Yeah, sometimes when you’re not in the mood your best work doesn’t come out. The whole first week of October I felt like poop and decided to step away from the blog so I could recover completely (I was also in a meh mood). So, I feel you!
      Haha, thanks! Yes, I’m pretty happy about that actually. And yes, a review will hopefully be up on Wednesday.

      Like

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

