Enter Chapter Books // On Reading With The Niece

I was ecstatic. I tried not to show it because I wasn’t sure if that’s what I’m supposed to do. I also didn’t want to scare her off.

What was it exactly?

The niece asked me to read a chapter book to her.

 

blog-post-adventures-in-reading

So far, for bedtime reading, we’ve stuck mainly to picture books. The niece recently went back to school, which may have been the #1 reason why she asked for a chapter book at home.

And so we began reading, Christmas in Camelot, a Magic Tree House book. A strange start, but you gotta do what you gotta do.

We read two chapters a night, and after a break over the weekend (we went over to Abuelita’s house), we finally finished it last night.

I don’t think it was an instant favorite, which is totally understandable. But I think she enjoyed it for the most part. We immediately began another chapter book because we didn’t read the allotted two chapters a night. Now, we are currently reading Dinosaurs Before Dark, the first book in the Magic Tree House series.

Apparently, this one was read to her in school. When I told her we could read a different book if she wanted too, she said, “no, tia, it’s fine. I want to read it again.” And so we began.

Throughout this whole initial experience of reading chapter books with her, it made me realize how glad past-me purchased those books to begin with. The books were there and available to her whenever she felt ready to reach out and give them a try.

Who knows if she would have picked up The Tale of Despereaux or A Little Princess. It maybe have taken a few more weeks to get her to reach out for a chapter book.

Regardless of the ‘what-ifs’, it’s exciting to start this reading adventure with her. Who knows, maybe by the end of the school year, she’ll be reading something to me!

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

