I’m On A Roll With My Summer Reading // #VASRP Challenge Update

This summer has been an awesome reading season. With multiple read-a-thon’s, returning to NetGalley, and a sudden (wonderful) increase in funds for books – I’ve been able to get excited once again for reading and just all things books.

I’m still taking part in the VASRP challenge and mini-challenge #6 pairs up great with my planned VASRP update. So, here we go!

summer reading check in

My VASRP Reading Goal Is: Read 10 books

So far, I’ve read: 17

I’ve reached and totally surpassed my reading goal! It’s a big thanks to reading manga and graphic novels. I’ve also reread a few of my favorite books.

It’s crazy, the amount of books and stories I’ve read. It’s hard to believe that I’ve read this much. And summer isn’t even over! I’m looking forward to ARC August and talking about some of the books I’ve enjoyed reading (like Labyrinth Lost, which a review will be posted in a few weeks)!

love them edit 2

Books I Knew I Was Going To Love & I Did: Kimi Ni Todoke vol. 1 and Haikyu!! vol.1. // Both of these were great starts to their respective series. Kimi Ni Todoke has been on my wishlist for the longest time and I’ve been clamoring for Haikyu!! forever. I’m so glad I finally have them in my personal library. Also, I just love taking photos of these two books. They’re so lovely.

pleasant surprise edit 2

Pleasant Surprises: Scarlet and How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents // Cinder, book 1 in the Lunar Chronicles, was a fun read, but it was too slow for me. I was hesitant to start Scarlet, but I zoomed through it in two days! I read How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents in one day. It was a surprising read, but I’m glad I read it. I don’t know how to describe it, but look at all the flags I left in it.

For VASRP Challenge #3 – I read a magazine. It was Game Informer’s latest issue talking about E3 and the latest gaming news. I was really interested in reading the section on the new Legend of Zelda Game titled, “Breath of the Wild.” So excited to play it.

VASRP Challenge #4 – I couldn’t really read to anyone else (even my dog) and get a picture of it. I thought I’d look to weird in front of the family.

VASARP Challenge #5 – My go to recommendations are:

Sci-Fi

  • Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness
  • Sky Chasers trilogy by Amy Kathleen Ryan

Contemporary

  • I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak

Fantasy

  • Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy by Rae Carson
  • Silver Phoenix by Cindy Pon
  • Sky Fall trilogy by Shannon Messenger

I’m hoping August will be another great reading month, filled with good books and great book discussions.

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

