Things Books Make Me Want To Do

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish feature created by The Broke and the Bookish. Check out their blog for more details.

Books are easily one of the most inspirational material things we as humanity posses. For some, it moves them to dream for greater things, others to start something new.

top ten tuesday - things books make me want to do

Even though I read books about protagonists with life endangering prophecies and some who want to overthrow governments, there are still some books that have inspired me to do all sorts of things (or want some things), like:

Go On A Space Adventure // because of the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

This may be because of all the Voltron: Legendary Defenders I’ve been watching or the space orbit Cinder and her companions embark on, but now more than ever do I just want to venture into outer space and kick butt.

Be A Better Person, Be A Better Me // because of Life of Pi by Yann Martel and I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak

You know those books people talk about, the ones that move you so inexplicably, and the ones you still think about years after you’ve read them? Yeah, Life of Pi and I Am The Messenger are those books that I think about when I feel at my worst, when I feel like I have nothing going for me. Sure, life is difficult, but it doesn’t have to bring me down.

Get Closer To My Roots // because of Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova and The House On Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros

It’s hard for me to find books with characters that look like me or sound like me and it’s even harder to find books with characters that feel a disassociation from their own heritage. Both Labyrinth Lost (in all it’s fantastical magicalness) and The House On Mango Street, make me want to accept who I am and not be afraid to get closer and learn more about my heritage.

Be Part Of A Team // because of Haikyu!!

Haikyu!! was probably my favorite anime of 2014 and 2015, and probably be my favorite for 2016. It has great character development and animation. Based off the manga by Haruichi Furudate, Haikyu!! makes me want to play volleyball, but most of all, makes me want to be part of this great team dynamic that’s part-friends/part-family.

Travel // because of all the books

I hate when books make me want to drop everything and travel and have adventures, because I’m literally so poor it’s not even funny. I just finished reading Scarlet by Marissa Meyer and now all of a sudden I want to go to France. What gives?

Write – Fantasy, Sci-Fi, All The Things // because of all the great books I’ve read (and the not so great ones)

I have a falling out with writing about once every two months. I think, “there’s no point!”, “I suck!”, “No one wants to read this!”. And then all of a sudden I think, “who cares, just do it”. I’ve read some really great books that have made me want to give creating a world and characters to root for a try.

Like, The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson, told me that a high fantasy doesn’t have to be your usual character-type/trope and based off this Western European standard.

The books I read and the books I may potentially write don’t have to be constricting.

Have Young Love // All The YA Contemporary (and other) Novels I’ve Wanted To Throw Out The Window

I’ve missed this window by 100 years, but sometimes reading some books makes me wish I had a much more exciting high school life, which leads me to the next thing books make me want to do –

Live A More Exciting Life // All The Books, Again

The characters and storylines I read are so exciting and fun. Sometimes I feel like I’m missing out all the things life has to offer. I never studied abroad in high school like Anna (dang it, Anna! And you found love in Paris, what in the world?) I’m just stuck at home with two kids who yell at me (and I’m broke).

Be Artistic // Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-Kun, and All The Characters I’ve Read Who Somehow All Have Great Talents

I have no talents or hobbies where I create something tangible to admire. I want to be able to draw, gosh dang it, and make awesome amazing fanart for others to fawn over.

In some way, shape or form, books make me want to do something. Either it’s fall asleep or conquer the world. Books, in their long history, have inspired many to step out their comfort zone. Good job, books.

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

