Five Books I Feel Different About Now

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Check out their blog for more details.

I haven’t written a Top Ten in awhile, but this topic is actually pretty near and dear to my heart because I frequently lose interest or learn to love certain books. Although, I think the losing interest part happens more often.

So here are the five books I feel different about now.

Feel less enthusiastic for:

City of Bones + The Mortal Instrument Series by Cassandra Clare

I came across the first three books while I was in high school and they were a blast to read. They were entertaining and filled with adventure. But as time went on (and the series continued), I lost interest. I haven’t read the last three books because I felt like the story ended really well with City of Glass. I don’t even know what is happening in the other three.

I also really enjoyed Clare’s Infernal Devices trilogy. However, with all the controversy and the fact that all her characters sound/feel the same, I just don’t feel the same way about those books.

Although, they’ll always be sort of special to me because they helped me read more while I was in high school.

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

To be honest, I’m not sure if I liked it to begin with, but now I know that I like it less than I did before. Again, which is probably no fault of the author (it’s probably an artistic choice, honestly), but all of Green’s books are so boring to me and the characters sound/feel the same. They’re also trying to sound philosophical and come off as pretentious, and that’s all good and all, but their characterizations and voices blend into one another.

Appreciate more:

Diary of A Teenage Girl series by Melody Carlson

Looking back, Carlson’s series of diaries were another set of books that helped hone my love for reading. They’re considered Christian fiction, but it wasn’t preachy and it they do such a great job at adding that religious aspect to a character. It’s something we very rarely see in YA (unless it’s Christian fiction). They’re a great cross-over series.

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

After I read this book, I wasn’t sure what I felt about it. However, when I started writing my review for it a few weeks later, I grew to appreciate Silvera’s writing techniques. I particularly liked how Aaron was characterized and this thought-process.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire-Saenz

I wasn’t sure how I felt about this book either, but as I mulled over it, I grew to appreciate it more and more. Honestly, it might be because of the Mexican-American main characters, but I like it so much because both Ari and Dante, despite their different upbringings, were so easy to relate too.

 

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

