Reading + Bookish Habits

Just like a bookshelf is unique to every person, I find that bookish habits have been cultivated and are unique (in a sense) to that particular person as well.

Which got me wondering, what kind of bookish habits do other people have?

What's Your Reading Habit

For instance, some people dog-ear pages. I use a bookmark, but I also place a second bookmark at the location I would like to be in at the end of the day.

Another habit of mine is using sticky notes or flags to mark quotes in a book. It’s especially handy when I don’t or can’t use a pencil.

In addition to keeping tack of the books I read on Goodreads, I keep a reading journal to hold my thoughts, reviews, quotes and anything book and reading related (including lists like my top book boyfriends and book playlists).

One other habit I have, which others might find crazy, is that when I find a book I’m interested in I sometimes read a portion of the middle or the end (or both). It gives me a chance to figure out whether or not I want to invest my time in reading the book or not. So, essentially, I sort of spoil myself.

So, tell me, what kind of reading or bookish habits do you have? Do you always make sure you have an extra book handy when you’re out and about? Do you livetweet or liveblog when you read? Let me know!

One thought on “Reading + Bookish Habits

  1. Pingback: Bookish habits – Time for tales and tea

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

