Top Ten Classics I Want To Read This Year

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a freebie! Check out The Broke and the Bookish for more info.

I recently decided that I was going to take part in Pretty Book’s 2016 Classics Challenge. This is definitely something new for me, but I recently noticed that I don’t read that many books considered classics since I graduated from high school and I also haven’t really read any American classics, so I want to try and amend that this year.

Here are some of my recent pick of books that I want to try and tackle this year:

1. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

This was the pick for a book club I recently joined and it’s given me a chance to read a book that wasn’t really on my radar previously.

2. Great Expectations/A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

I have a really pretty edition of these two books (two books in one) and it’s been on my shelf for years (it was on sale…). So, I thought this year could be the year that I actually read it.

3. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath is a book that I view as a great American classic, so I wanted to give his other works a try. Starting out with something small.

4. Beloved by Toni Morrison

I feel as if Morrison is just a must read book before you die.

5. How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accent by Julia Alvarez

I found this book (and the next pick) at a swap meet when I was thinking that I haven’t read a lot of literary fiction.

6. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

I didn’t know how highly regarded this book is! I think after I read it I’ll be in on some sort of secret.

7. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

For some reason I feel like a bad American for not having read this book, if not that, than a bad previous high school student because sometimes I feel as if everyone and their grandmother has read this book.

8. Persuasion by Jane Austen

I read Pride and Prejudice for the first time last year and I loved it. I didn’t know I was going to love it so much. I don’t even know why I love it, but I do. I want to give this book a try next.

9. A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

I have the beautiful B&N classics edition of this book, well technically my niece does. I’m planning on asking her if I can borrow it.

10. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exuprey

Since the movie is being released, I want to give the book a re-read.

Those are my top ten picks. I would love to hear some classics recommendations! Whether it’s children’s, contemporary, etc. Any would be appreciated.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Classics I Want To Read This Year

  1. Hey, I read Fahrenheit 451 for high school! I’m not American though. 😛

    I’ve heard that The Bell Jar is one of those books that really got a good grasp on depression and I want to read that too. Hope you like it!

    Like

    • Wow, really? See, for some reason that makes me feel even more meh.
      I didn’t really have a grasp on what The Bell Jar was really about when I decided to read it, but I’ve heard a lot of good things as well. I hope I like it too!

      Like

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

