Let The Sky Fall // Book Review

Title: Let The Sky Fall (Let The Sky Fall #1)

Author: Shannon Messenger

Pub: March 2013

Genre: Paranormal/Supernatural, Urban Fantasy

Rating: ★★★★☆

This book was recommended by a friend (but she probably doesn’t remember that, whoops).

I did not expect to like this book as much as I did!

Vane Weston lives in the Coachella valley. The one true fact that he has lived with his whole life is that he survived a category-five tornado, but his parents didn’t, and a strange apparition of a girl with dark hair haunts his memories and dreams. But the dark-haired girl is not an apparition, her name is Audra and she’s a sylph entrusted with protecting his life. A mishap forces them to team up and work to unlock Vane’s locked away memories before evil forces come to destroy them both!

I really thought I was going to be ‘meh’ about this book, but instead it kind of sucked me in and forced me to read it as quickly as I could.

I really liked the switching POV, it helped me connect with the characters inner thoughts and the reasons behind their actions, but it also kept me in the action. The story is about their growing relationship, but also about their powers and I thought the switching POV was a good touch.

I also really loved the supernatural powers at work here. It’s wind power (air nomads, anyone? Just kidding…). It’s different than the usual sorcery, or telepathy, etc. that we see in other stories.

I actually liked both of the characters, which I thought was awesome because sometimes that might not always be the case, but I did! Messenger does such a fluid job in characterizing them and showing off their personalities. It was fun getting to know them.

Let the Sky Fall is book one in the Sky Fall trilogy, book two is titled Let the Storm Break, and the third and final book is titled Let the Wind Rise and will be released April 2016.

Vane Weston should have died in a category-five tornado, but instead is left with no memories except for a vision of a dark-haired girl. His life turns topsy-turvy as the dark-haired girl turns out to be real and he's plunged into a battle to save his life.

Vane Weston should have died in a category-five tornado, but instead is left with no memories except for a vision of a dark-haired girl. His life turns topsy-turvy as the dark-haired girl turns out to be real and he’s plunged into a battle to save his life.

Links/Affiliate: Goodreads, Barnes & Noble, Book Despository, Amazon

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

