I’m Not Setting A Goodreads Reading Challenge This Year

For five years I’ve been setting a reading challenge through Goodreads. This year, however, I decided to not set a reading goal. I accomplished my goal for 2015 and I’m done.

What?

Yes. I don’t want to and will not be setting a reading goal. Blasphemy! Just kidding. But in all seriousness, I’ve tried to accomplish my Goodreads goal for five years. The first year I did it, my goal was to read 25 books. I ended up with 22. The next year (and the following years), I moved the goal up to 50. I made a new reading goal every year to read 50 books and I wasn’t able to accomplish that goal until Dec 31, 2015.

Now, that I’ve finally been able to do that, I feel as if a small weight has been lifted off my shoulders. I feel as if I could shout and say, “Yes! I did read 51 books last year. Go me!”

And then I can be on my way.

I’m not saying I won’t keep track of my reading. I have so much fun cataloguing the books I’ve read and getting subsequent recommendations from them. It’s fun.

But this year, I won’t be setting a reading goal. Instead, I’ll let my reading be accomplished naturally.

I don’t want to feel rushed and get anxious when I, once again, don’t reach that number.

A lot of my Goodreads friends have set their goals. My sister even set a goal this year and now I feel like I’m missing out on something. But this year, I want to give it a try. Just like I did before. I wanted to try and read 50 books in one year. I succeeded. Now, I want to try and not set a reading goal. Just to see what happens.

Have you set a reading goal for 2016? Are you passing it up like I am? Let me know!

4 thoughts on “I’m Not Setting A Goodreads Reading Challenge This Year

  1. I definitely get this and while I did set a Goodreads goal, I set one that will be easily attainable for me. Last year I put off reading too many longer books because they took more time.

    It’s nice seeing more people not setting goals or setting smaller ones.

    Like

    • Yeah, it seemed like I was doing it for such a long time it felt weird not to set a goal and then I was so nitpicky and couldn’t set a different goal until I finished the previous one, haha!

      Instead of a number, I think maybe I’ll try doing some sort of bucket list type think or reading challenges (that’s what those reading challenges look like to me, a reading bucket list). So, read a non-fiction book, read a classic, read some manga, etc.

      Like

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

