Top Ten Anticipated Reads of 2016

Much like other “anticipated reads” lists, I wanted to share with you all the books I can’t wait to read for 2016. It isn’t necessarily a “to-be-read” scenario and much more, “I hope I get to read these books this year” and *fingers crossed*, “I hope I like them.

Haikyu!! vol. 1 [Sports, Slice of Life]

I am so excited for this manga to be released in the U.S. I love the anime and when I heard that Viz Media had gotten the rights to publish and bring it to the U.S. last fall, I was ecstatic (and I may or may not have yelled). I went over to the Viz Media Twitter account the other day to ask if there was a release date and…yes!

Screenshot 2016-01-11 09.38.05

Burning Glass [Fantasy]

I received this book as an ARC and when I compiled this list I hadn’t started it. But now, I about 100 pages in and I can tell this will possibly be a slow moving story, but the palace-intrigue, it calls to me.

The Shadow Queen [Fantasy]

I totally fell for the cover of this book, but I’m really interested to see how the retelling of Snow White will come about.

Let The Storm Break & Let The Wind Rise [Supernatural/Paranormal]

Let The Sky Fall was one of my favorite reads of last year. I thoroughly enjoyed it (review coming soon, hopefully) and I’m looking forward to reading the sequel and waiting for the release of the final installment (however, don’t get me started on the cover change).

Spark & Flame by Amy Kathleen Ryan [Sci-Fi]

I read the first book in the Sky Chasers trilogy, Glow, in the summer of 2014 and haven’t been able to get a hold of the books from the library, but now I’ve placed Spark on hold and hopefully I will get to read it in the next few weeks!

Kimi Ni Todoke: From Me To You [Romance, Slice of Life]

I love the anime! It’s so cute. I was hesitant to start reading the manga, but I’ve decided to just go for it. I need a little romance and slice of life-esque stories in my life. Kimi Ni Todoke also has some really unique characters and storylines. I can’t wait to get into it.

How The Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents [Literary Fiction]

This was a random selection, but it’s a book that has been on my TBR stack for a while and I thought I should give reading some literary fiction a try this year.

Short Stories [Literary Fiction]

My goal this year is to write a short story. So, I decided if I want to write short stories I need to read them as well. I also feel as if short stories don’t receive the recognition they deserve.

Are there any books you’re looking forward to reading this year? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Anticipated Reads of 2016

What did you think? Let Me Know Below

